Share
| All Events >
Sarah Coolidge received her BA in comparative literature from Bard College. She enjoys reading books in Spanish and English, and she writes essays on photography and international literature.
March 4, 2021 | 9:10am

AWP 2021 Panel: Carrying Pollen from Exile to Exile—International Journals and Translation

Virtual Event

9:10 am PT | 10:10 am MT | 11:10 am CT | 12:10 pm ET

This event has already taken place.

AWP looks different this year, but here’s where you can (virtually) find us if you’re attending.

Panel: Carrying Pollen from Exile to Exile—International Journals and Translation

Thursday, March 4 | 9:10-10:10 Pacific Time

Calico Series Editor Sarah Coolidge joins Marcela Sulak, Wayne Miller, Eilis O’Neal, and Geoffrey Brock to consider the role of translation and the literary communities curated through international journals in an age of massive displacement of populations. For example, translation preserves and shares stories hidden in source languages while renewing the target language. But what do we look for in translation submissions? What do we mean by, and how do we achieve, diversity? How does one evaluate works from various aesthetic traditions with distinct goals and values in an age of crisis?

Register for the conference on AWP’s website.

Contact:
Leslie-Ann Woofter
415.512.8812
Sarah Coolidge received her BA in comparative literature from Bard College. She enjoys reading books in Spanish and English, and she writes essays on photography and international literature.