Share
| All Events >
Jazmina Barrera photo with On Lighthouses cover in background
Jazmina Barrera was born in Mexico City in 1988. She was a fellow at the Foundation for Mexican Letters. Her book of essays Cuerpo extraño (Foreign Body) was awarded the Latin American Voices prize from Literal Publishing in 2013. She has published her work in various print and digital media, such as Nexos, Este País, Dossier, Vice, El Malpensante, Letras Libres and Tierra Adentro. She has a Master's Degree in Creative Writing in Spanish from New York University, which she completed with the support of a Fulbright grant. She was a grantee of the Young Creators program at FONCA. She is editor and co-founder of Ediciones Antílope. She lives in Mexico City.
October 15, 2020 | 4:00pm

Lighthouses and the Act of Belonging: Jazmina Barrera

Virtual Event

4:00 PT | 5:00 MT | 6:00 CT | 7:00 ET

2013 Latin American Voices prize winner and Two Lines Press author Jazmina Barrera returns with her latest book, On Lighthouses, a critical and imaginative study of lighthouses around the world and their meaning to us as individuals. Part memoir and part literary history, Barrera navigates questions of isolation both as a source of pain and of enlightenment with bright and vivid imagery. The Paris Review stated, about her book, “Lighthouses, the ‘frontier between civilization and nature,’ are places of solitude. But they are also signals of shore and home. This book is a light at the end of a tunnel, showing us places we’ll see and things we’ll do when we can go out again.”

The event will take place on Crowdcast. Register here.

This event is sponsored by the Cheuse Center and is part of Fall For the Book, an independent non-profit literary arts organization based at George Mason University that promotes reading by sponsoring a variety of year-round events and activities.

Contact:
Leslie-Ann Woofter
415-512-8812
Jazmina Barrera was born in Mexico City in 1988. She was a fellow at the Foundation for Mexican Letters. Her book of essays Cuerpo extraño (Foreign Body) was awarded the Latin American Voices prize from Literal Publishing in 2013. She has published her work in various print and digital media, such as Nexos, Este País, Dossier, Vice, El Malpensante, Letras Libres and Tierra Adentro. She has a Master's Degree in Creative Writing in Spanish from New York University, which she completed with the support of a Fulbright grant. She was a grantee of the Young Creators program at FONCA. She is editor and co-founder of Ediciones Antílope. She lives in Mexico City.