Share
| All Events >
Stone-Garland book cover
Translator
Dan Beachy-Quick is a poet, essayist, and translator. His books include Variations on Dawn and Dusk, which was longlisted for the National Book Awards. His work has been supported by the Lannan, Monfort, and Guggenheim Foundations. He is a University Distinguished Teaching Scholar at Colorado State University, where he teaches in the MFA program in creative writing.
Speaker
Stephen Sparks is co-owner of Point Reyes Books with his wife, Molly Parent. In addition to serving on the Center's board, he is a board member of Dorothy, a publishing project, and Open Letter Books, and he has served as a juror for various literary prizes and awards, including the National Book Award for Poetry and the Best Translated Book Award.
September 22, 2020 | 7:00pm

Stone-Garland: Six Poets from the Greek Lyric Tradition

Virtual Event

7:00 pm PT | 8:00 pm MT | 9:00 pm CT | 10:00 pm ET

This event has already taken place.

Poet, essayist, and translator Dan Beachy-Quick presents his new translation of ancient Greek poetry, Stone-Garland with Stephen Sparks.

This event is co-sponsored by Pt. Reyes Books and will be presented on their Crowdcast Channel. Register on Pt. Reyes Books’s website. And while you’re there, order a copy of the book!

About Stone-Garland:

Stone-Garland, this new entry in the Seedbank series, presents translations of six poets of the Greek lyric tradition. Anecdotes of Simonides, Anacreon, Archilochus, Theognis, Alcman, and Callimachus may be easy to come by but their poems are restored less often. That’s a loss that this anthology remedies. Reading ancient poetry is a simple pleasure, like strolling through a cemetery overgrown with wildflowers. Imagine the graveyard filled with broken stones, each with a fragment that could compose a poem. Stone by stone you build a garland that represents a possible vision of a world long gone.

 

Contact:
Leslie-Ann Woofter
415.512.8812
Translator
Dan Beachy-Quick is a poet, essayist, and translator. His books include Variations on Dawn and Dusk, which was longlisted for the National Book Awards. His work has been supported by the Lannan, Monfort, and Guggenheim Foundations. He is a University Distinguished Teaching Scholar at Colorado State University, where he teaches in the MFA program in creative writing.
Speaker
Stephen Sparks is co-owner of Point Reyes Books with his wife, Molly Parent. In addition to serving on the Center's board, he is a board member of Dorothy, a publishing project, and Open Letter Books, and he has served as a juror for various literary prizes and awards, including the National Book Award for Poetry and the Best Translated Book Award.